Plenty of folks here have, and there has been plenty written. Check out the search feature on this site - on my browser it looks like a little magnifying glass next the the “DONATIONS” tab near the top right-hand corner.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .