Skip to main content

Hello all,

I had my reversal over a month ago, and I wanted to take moment to talk about my first 30 days.

please note this disclaimer. I am not a doctor or medical professional and have no facts other than my own experience and opinion.  Some might agree and some disagree with my opinion and I am ok with that too.

i had my pouch for 10 days before suffering a perforation and leak and emergency surgery to save my life.

my opinion is that the immediate post surgical time will be a predictor of future results.  I don’t think my pouch will adapt to me but rather me adapting to the pouch.  In the second week after bowel repair, I was going 3-4 times per day, jpouch draining nicely, although it would fake me out in that when I finished, and wet wiped and put barrier cream on, it would drain some more. I hope to get back to that soon.

When I learn the daily Imodium amount and schedule I will be in better.

Same for which foods to eat and which drugs to take/not take, especially the ones that cause constipation.

I was prescribed questran to cut down on bile intensity, but wound up severely constipated for 2 days. My belly woke up in the middle of night and I couldn’t stop going for 6 hours. Not diarrhea, but small amounts and a very sore backside and anus. I need to take an Imodium to stop the BMs.

today I ate some vanilla ice cream and had painful gas cramps all day today, so now I need to decide if and how much ice cream I can eat.

one surgeon told me my life was going to be worse after surgery since my UC was mostly under control and that is my reference point. He was 100 % correct.

while I don’t want a bag again, I am not impressed by my jpouch outcome.

if I am proven wrong about this, I will certainly admit it, but so far if a had to do it all over again, I am not sure I would have chosen this route.

thanks for listening.

eric

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest