Skip to main content

Hello, this is my first time posting, but have followed the forum for a few years and appreciate the posts and advice given on this site.

I am 40 years old and 12 years post take down, standard J-Pouch. The past 11 years have been great, no issues, BM's average 3-5 per day until January of this year. I have had some stressful events occur in my life in 2015 (new job, hosting an exchange student and raising our own teenager). Almost immediately after the new year, I started having an increase in BM's, urgency to them and symptoms that were similar to my experience with Ulcerative Colitis, which I had for 8 years before the J-Pouch surgery. 

I ended up in the ER twice in February with a bladder infection, the first time due to severe pain and fatigue. They treated me with Cipro and Flagyl, a week later I was back in the ER due to continuous vomiting/dry heaving for 2+ hours. They gave me pain meds, anti-nausea meds and took me off the Flagyl. The doc in the ER determined the Flagyl caused the vomiting and likely killed all the good bacteria in my gut. By the end of March I was feeling better and thought this was behind me. This was also the first time I was able to get into see my GI doctor due to not being a patient for 11 years. He advised that the symptoms were due to the bladder infection and if I had any issues to contact him.