Donnalou, welcome to the forum. There is a lot of personal experience among our members and we are here to help each other. If you could provide us with more information about your situation, I am sure that you will receive some helpful responses.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .